No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Tax 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Cart Check out


Title: Quatredecatet

Composer: James Niblock

Instrumentation: 14 Clarinets

More details

25,50 € tax incl.


(Complete set)  --  This piece was commissioned in 2004 by Elsa Ludwig-Verdehr to be performed by the clarinetists who attend the annual Clarinet Conference at Michigan State University.
Using a unique form of Theme and Variation, the piece begins with 2 variations, followed by the announcement of the theme by the 8 Bflat clarinets in Unison. This is followed by 2 more variations before the final Coda return to the theme. Except for the announcement of the theme, the 14 instruments play independent parts.
The piece is scored for two Eb clarinets, eight Bb clarinets, two Eb Alto clarinets, and two Bb Bass clarinets. The form is a Theme and Variations, but it is unusual in that the theme is announced after the first two variations. After two more variations, the piece concludes with a Coda which restates the theme.